Dovetails

I know I said I’d talk about grain direction next, but, obviously I’ve been a little distracted.

I figured the best thing I could do to bridge the gap between now and the time I actually do write about grain direction is apologize for my absence with a small “picture fest”.

There hasn’t been much time to spend in The Bronze Oak Leaf shop lately, except to work on quads, cars, and school projects.  You see, what is normally “that cozy little woodshop” in the winter magically becomes “that grease monkey’s humid, dirty, stale-beer-smelling metal and auto shop” in the spring and summer.  I know; bummer.  Lawnmowers, quads, dirtbikes, chainsaws, I even got to build a basketball backboard and weld up a steel frame to mount it on the shop for the kids (I’m actually kind of proud of that; and them, they helped).

But in the midst of all the wrench-turning, beer drinking, complaining and glancing wistfully at the already-surfaced red oak standing by to be made into stools for the basement, I did get to finish the two projects I mentioned earlier, plus a complete surprise (to me) that I decided off-the-cuff to dive into one day.

Image

This is the Enfield Cabinet and my daughter’s bookshelf, all assembled and awaiting finish.  As I said, the wood for the bookcase was already cut to rough size when I started the cabinet, so while I was waiting on parts for the cabinet I was able to start on the bookshelf.  After I finished the bookshelf, I finished the cabinet and pow!- I was able to effectively double the odious task of applying finish.

I do apologize for the lack of good pics, I still can’t seem to learn that skill.

Anyway, on to the fun stuff.

There was a story in Popular Woodworking Magazine about the building of a dovetailed keepsake box.  It was billed as a dovetail-cutting skill-builder, and, what the heck, I had some leftover cherry.

I thought, in the middle of construction, of digitally documenting construction of this crazy foray into hand-cut dovetails (my first), but I really didn’t think it would turn out.

I was pleasantly surprised at what unmitigated gall will get you.  I took my time, made some mistakes, fixed those mistakes, cussed a little, and ultimately was able to give my wife a nice little piece of furniture that she should be able to pass down to her granddaughter.

I’ll go into the construction later for anyone who cares, but until then, what do you think? (Click on them!)  

 

 

About Sam

Young, good-looking, manly--you get the picture. Novice woodworker with just too much rolling around upstairs to keep to myself. Random thoughts, philosophical questions, the occasional flash of insight or just dumb luck that needs to be shared with anyone who cares.
This entry was posted in Nuts and Bolts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dovetails

  1. ~D says:

    I see the project was properly competed with a six pack in tow…. Very nice work.

Leave a Reply

